ZAFAA Awards: Eucharia Anunobi, Yvonne Jegede, Bukky Wright, others clinch nominations - The Naija Weekly

The Naija Weekly

Your Preferred Online Newspage


Tuesday, October 5, 2021

ZAFAA Awards: Eucharia Anunobi, Yvonne Jegede, Bukky Wright, others clinch nominations


Nigerian movie stars Eucharia Anunobi, Yvonne Jegede, Bukky Wright, Uru Eke, Kalu Ikeagwu, and others have been nominated for the 2021 African Film Academy Awards, aka ZAFAA Global Awards.

The awards will be hosted in London in November.

Don Chuks Uzochukwu, Executive Director of ZAFAA, disclosed this at a press conference in Abuja on Tuesday.

Mr Uzochukwu explained that there were 20 categories for both indigenous and diaspora movies.

“We have a total of 44 movies submitted for the 2021 ZAFAA. Out of the 44 movies submitted, 41 qualified, and three were disqualified because they did not meet the quality of the movie screen in ZAFAA,” he disclosed. “We have nominations in Best actor category, male and female, Best Supporting Actor (BSA) Male and Female, Best Producer, Director, Editor, Film, Costumer.”

He further stated that for the indigenous category, “we have Best Actor Male and Female, Best Supporting Actor (BSA) Male and Female, Best Child Act, Best Documentary, Best Director, Producer.”

Others under the indigenous category are Best Movie, Best Picture, Best Overall Picture, and Best New Comer,” according to Mr Uzochukwu.

He added that Ikeagwu in ‘Boboyani’ (Nigeria), Bernard Poku in ‘Heroes of Africa’ (Ghana), Hamid Maralo in ‘Tangled with the Boss’ (Sierra Leone), and others made the nominations for the BA Male category.

“Yvonne Jegede in ‘Room Hate’ (Nigeria), Karen Simpson in ‘Believe in You’ (Canada), Christiana Kawara in ‘Sinnah’ (Sierra Leone), Uru Eke in ‘For Old Time Sake’ (Nigeria), and Tana Adelana in ‘Daluchi’ (Nigeria) were nominated for the BA Female category,” he further disclosed. “Van Vicker in ‘Heroes of Africa’ (Ghana), Emem Ufot in Daluchi (Nigeria), and others are nominated for the BSA Male, while Eucharia Anunobi in For Old Time Sake (Nigeria), Beverly Naya in ‘Believe in you’ (Canada), made it for BSA female.”

For Best Producer, there are Uru Eke for the movie ‘For Old Time Sake’ (Nigeria), Daniel Imasuen for ‘Eva’ (Nigeria), Collins Archie-Pearce for ‘British Expert’ (Sierra Leone), and four others.

In the Best Director category, there are Emmanuel Anyaka for ‘Blind is Love’ (Nigeria), Isioro Tokunbo in ‘Believe in You’ (Canada), John-Paul Nwanganga in ‘Utonwa’ (Nigeria), Frank Fiifi in ‘Heroes of Africa’ (Ghana) and others.

Mr Uzochukwu further revealed that Bukky Wright in ‘Golden Seed’ (Nigeria), Ellen Kyei White in ‘Mary Magdalene’ (Ghana), Chiege Alisigwe in ‘Nne’ (Nigeria), and Peju Ogunmola in ‘Amope Ajabiiji’ (Nigeria) were nominated for the BSA female indigenous.

He said only two actors were nominated for Best New Comers, “Tina Nkeonye Favour in ‘The Seventh Seal’ (Nigeria), and Esther Agunbiade in ‘Eva’ (Nigeria) and for Best Child Act, “we have Anaialy Thomas in ‘Divorce’ (UK), Joshua Junaid on ‘Malomo’ (Nigeria), Divine Ismail in ‘Blind is Love’ (Nigeria), and Victoria Onipade in ‘Shot in the Dark (UK).”


No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad